Vodafone 5G Lab
Vodafone 5G Lab

Innovations in the network of the future

We continuously develop new innovations with the help of the state-of-the-art technology at our 5G Lab so that we can contribute to shaping the gigabit network of the future.

We use our 5G test chambers to bring innovative ideas to life and collaborate with our business partners to develop prototypes for exciting use cases. Low latency, high bandwidth and bespoke networks are the foundations on which we are developing future applications.

Our test chambers are the central element of the 5G labs

Our test chambers are the central element of the 5G labs

All devices designed for use in the Vodafone global 5G network are put to the ultimate 5G test in Düsseldorf: from smartphone to tablet and from IoT sensor to new antenna.

The tests are conducted in a shielded and safety regulation-compliant test chamber for 5G. Equipped with the latest technology from multiple manufacturers, it is the perfect environment for 5G testing and innovation development.

Prototypes for the network of the future
RedBox#1: 5G campus networks

RedBox#1: 5G campus networks

Mobile private networks (MPNs) or campus networks offer our enterprise customers a new way to communicate efficiently and securely with 5G technology, and they can also be used for M2M communications. RedBox#1 is a prototype campus network. It has a mobile communication system that is integrated into our laboratory network and incorporates all network components for 4G/5G Non-Standalone Architecture (NSA), 5G Standalone Architecture (SA) and Mobile Edge Computing.

Portrait painting with 5G: low latency for robots

Portrait painting with 5G: low latency for robots

A robot is connected to an artist via the 5G network. Every movement she makes with her hands is recorded by a motion capturing glove and transmitted in real time to the robot via the 5G link so that the robot can make a perfect replica of the artist's painting. The artist is additionally at a different location and can only see the model whose portrait she is painting via 5G livestream. At the same time, the artist's image is being transmitted so she can be watched as she paints. Everything happens in real time, via 5G.

Network slicing for remote-controlled construction machines

Network slicing for remote-controlled construction machines

Tomorrow's machine operators won't just have one machine to operate a few times a day. They will be operating numerous construction machines at various construction sites remotely - and in real time. With a remotely operated crane, we provided a demonstration of how network slicing works. It involves the original network architecture being 'sliced' into multiple logical and independent networks so that the construction machines can be linked to the control centre without any external interference.

First hologram conversation in a self-driving car

First hologram conversation in a self-driving car

A very special conversation about 5G technology took place at the 5G Mobility Lab between Vodafone Germany CEO Hannes Ametsreiter and a group of people in the e.GO Mover van. What made it special, was that Hannes participated in the discussion as a hologram from the Vodafone headquarters 70 kilometres away. The extremely low latency meant that the people he was talking with in the bus were able to see all his movements, facial expressions and gestures in real time. It was achieved by linking the 5G networks at the Vodafone Campus 5G Lab and the 5G Mobility Lab in Aldenhoven.

Discover more labs
The 5G Mobility Lab

The 5G Mobility Lab

We design and test future mobility concepts at the 5G Mobility Lab. The latest mobile communications technology and a varied test track for mobile applications provide the perfect field testing environment.

The IoT Future Lab

The IoT Future Lab

This is where we develop the future of the Internet of Things and certify enterprise customers' IoT devices for use in our Vodafone mobile network.

The Innovation Garage

The Innovation Garage

This is where we tinker with innovative ideas and concepts using the latest technologies with our team of students and interns.

Vodafone 5G Lab
Vodafone 5G Lab

Innovationen im Netz der Zukunft

Um die Gigabit-Gesellschaft der Zukunft mitzugestalten, entwickeln wir stetig neue Innovationen - mithilfe der modernsten Technik in unserem 5G Lab.

In unseren 5G-Messkammern erwecken wir innovative Ideen zum Leben. Und entwickeln gemeinsam mit unseren Business Partnern Prototypen für spannende Cases. Niedrige Latenz, hoher Durchsatz und Netze nach Maß: Auf dieser Basis entwickeln wir die Anwendungen für morgen.

Herzstück des 5G Labs: Unsere Messkammern

Alles, was im weltweiten 5G-Netz von Vodafone funken will, durchläuft in Düsseldorf den ultimativen 5G-Härtetest. Vom Handy bis zum Tablet. Vom IoT-Sensor bis zur neuen Antenne.

Eine nach höchsten Sicherheitsvorschriften abgeschirmte Messkammer bildet die Testumgebung, in der ein 5G-Netz der neusten Generation funkt. Ausgerüstet mit der aktuellsten Technik mehrerer Hersteller, steht eine perfekte Plattform für 5G-Tests und Innovationen zur Verfügung.

Prototypen für das Netz der Zukunft

Die RedBox#1: 5G-Campus-Netze

Mobile Private Networks (MPN) oder auch sogenannte Campus-Netze sind für unsere Geschäftskund:innen eine neue Möglichkeit, effizient und sicher über 5G nicht nur Menschen, sondern auch Maschinen und Anlagen kommunizieren zu lassen. Die RedBox#1 ist der Prototyp für solche Netze. Sie enthält ein Mobilfunk-System, das in unser Labornetz integriert ist. Und beinhaltet die komplette Netzkomponente für die 4G/5G Non-Standalone Architecture (NSA), die 5G Standalone Architecture (SA) und Mobile Edge Computing.

Mit 5G zum Porträt: Niedrige Latenz für Roboter

Über das 5G-Netz ist ein Roboter mit einer Künstlerin verbunden. Ihre Handbewegungen werden mit einem Motion-Capture-Handschuh erfasst und über die 5G-Verbindung in Echtzeit an den Roboter übertragen. So zeichnet der Roboter 1:1 das Bild der Künstlerin nach. Diese befindet sich zudem an einem anderen Ort und sieht ihr Modell nur über einen 5G-Livestream. Um die Künstlerin live beim Zeichnen zu sehen, wird auch sie per Livestream übertragen. Alles in Echtzeit, alles über 5G.

Network Slicing für ferngesteuerte Baumaschinen

Maschinenführer:innen von morgen steuern nicht nur ein paarmal am Tag ihre Maschine. Sie kontrollieren gleich eine ganze Vielzahl an Baumaschinen auf verschiedenen Baustellen - aus der Ferne und dennoch in Echtzeit. Mit dem teleoperierten Kran haben wir gezeigt, wie dies mit Hilfe von Network Slicing funktioniert. Dabei werden einzelne Teilnetze aus dem Mobilfunknetz herausgeschnitten, sodass die Verbindung zwischen Baumaschinen und der Schaltzentrale ohne Störungen von Außeneinflüssen gehalten werden kann.

Erstes Hologramm-Gespräch im selbstfahrenden Auto

Im 5G Mobility Lab gab es ein Gespräch der ganz besonderen Art. Vodafone Deutschland CEO Hannes Ametsreiter lud zum Austausch über 5G in den fahrenden Elektrokleinbus e.GO Mover ein. Er selbst führte das Gespräch dabei per Hologramm aus der rund 70 km entfernten Vodafone-Zentrale. Durch die sehr geringe Latenz sahen seine Gesprächspartner:innen im Bus jede seiner Bewegungen, seine Gestik und Mimik in Echtzeit. Das funktioniert über unsere Verbindung der 5G-Netze im 5G Lab am Vodafone Campus und dem 5G Mobility Lab in Aldenhoven.

Weitere Labs entdecken
Das 5G Mobility Lab

Das 5G Mobility Lab

Hier gestalten und erproben wir Mobilitätskonzepte der Zukunft. Neuste Mobilfunk-Technik und eine abwechslungsreiche Teststrecke für mobile Anwendungen sind der perfekte Mix für Tests im Freifeld.

Das IoT Future Lab

Das IoT Future Lab

In unserem IoT Future Lab entwickeln wir die Zukunft für das Internet der Dinge und zertifizieren IoT-Geräte gegenüber dem Vodafone-Mobilfunknetz.

Die Innovation Garage

Die Innovation Garage

Die Innovation Garage ist der Ort, an dem wir mit unserem Netzwerk an Student:innen und Praktikant:innen die neusten Technologien nutzen und an innovativen Ideen und Konzepten tüfteln.