Innovation Garage

We are designing the future with students

Innovation needs space. It is also about having the courage to depart from familiar paths and break new ground. Our Innovation Garage is an ideal environment for innovation. Realise your creative concepts and innovative showcases with us - from idea to product.

Experience how the latest technologies are developed and help us to shape the future of connectivity.

Let's develop the future together

Are you interested in technology, enrolled at a university and interested in doing an internship or a mentored thesis in a modern, highly functional environment with state-of-the-art technology? Then come along to the Innovation Garage!

The possibilities

  • Work with the very latest technologies, such as 5G, Narrowband-IoT, LTE broadcast, V2X and 3D modelling.
  • Use state-of-the-art network equipment such as 5G routers, the GigaCube, networked and virtual servers.
  • Work with devices such as boards, modules, wearables and 3D printers.
  • Use the latest camera systems, including action cams, drones, virtual reality and 360° cameras.
  • Develop websites, apps (iOS/Android) and applications.

Technology has no gender

But technical occupations still attract far more men than women. We hope to change that by encouraging talented women to join us and pursue a career in the tech industry. Female students can develop their potential by working on tech projects at the Innovation Garage. We believe that equality and diversity in the work environment are key innovation drivers.

Are you a tech fan looking for an exciting internship? Then apply for one at the Innovation Garage. We're looking forward to meeting you!

Testimonials
Kai | Media Technology | Internship, Bachelor & Master's Thesis | Drone control

Kai | Media Technology | Internship, Bachelor & Master's Thesis | Drone control

"The internship at the Innovation Garage inspired me to write my bachelor and master's theses here. I learned a lot of things about mobile communications technology and had the opportunity to apply my own know-how in innovative software development, drone, AR and VR projects. I wrote my bachelor's thesis on controlling unmanned aircraft via mobile communications technology. In fact, my showcase was at CeBIT 2017 - which was my first experience of exhibiting at a trade fair. After graduating I was lucky enough to be offered a job in technology innovation. Now I have my own exciting projects and I'm also a mentor for Innovation Garage interns."

Kübra | Electrical Engineering | Internship | Localization through low-power technologies

Kübra | Electrical Engineering | Internship | Localization through low-power technologies

"The Innovation Garage offers all students the opportunity to develop their soft and hard skills. Anshita (on the right in the photo) and I had been working together on a software as we both needed to implement some features for our project work. During my internship, I mostly assisted the IoT team with programming and worked on localization through low-power technologies. Since I extremely liked both the diverse work atmosphere and the dynamics, I decided to start my career at Vodafone. I was supported in my application process by my department head Britta and mentor Teja."

Johanna | Business Administration | Internship | Business Model Innovation

Johanna | Business Administration | Internship | Business Model Innovation

"I didn't have any specific technical know-how, but I'd always been interested in bridging the gap between technology and business. A business model innovation internship at the Innovation Garage was the perfect opportunity to link the two. I was assigned to developing scalable business cases based on technical use cases. It was great to have the opportunity to be involved in so many interesting projects. For example, I collaborated on projects involving 5G technology, real-time multimedia, connected mobility and smart parking."

Information about internships at the Vodafone Innovation Garage

Fields of activity

Our interns work at the Innovation Garage on the Vodafone Campus in Düsseldorf, where our IoT Future Lab and 5G Lab are also located, and our 5G Mobility Lab in Aldenhoven. Use the link below to apply. Use 'Innovation Garage' to filter your search.

To the internships
Previous knowledge

Previous knowledge

Do you like new technologies? Great - because Innovation Garage internships are technology oriented. That's why a high level of technological understanding is a requirement. We also prefer our interns to be undergraduates in telecommunications engineering, industrial engineering or IT.

You're welcome to apply for one of our non-technical internships if you have a different background. We also offer internships in areas such as marketing and strategy development.

Applications and pay

Applications and pay

It's best to apply 1 to 3 months in advance. We will need you to send us:

  • Cover letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Certificates: high school diploma and latest university transcript of grades
  • Your current university enrolment certificate

If you are applying for a mandatory internship as part of your degree course we will require proof from your university. We pay EUR 1,000 per month for mandatory internships and the minimum wage for voluntary internships.

Your contact to the Innovation Garage

Please feel free to contact us:

Innovation.Garage@Vodafone.com

Discover more labs
The 5G Lab

The 5G Lab

We make it possible to experience next generation mobile technology as we work on innovations with new radio, mobile edge computing and similar new technologies.

The 5G Mobility Lab

The 5G Mobility Lab

We design and test future mobility concepts at the 5G Mobility Lab. The latest mobile communications technology and a varied test track for mobile applications provide the perfect field testing environment.

The IoT Future Lab

The IoT Future Lab

This is where we develop the future of the Internet of Things and certify enterprise customers' IoT devices for use in our Vodafone mobile network.

Innovation Garage
Innovation Garage

Gemeinsam mit Student:innen gestalten wir die Zukunft

Innovation braucht Freiräume. Und den Mut, bekannte Pfade zu verlassen und Neuland zu betreten. Unsere Innovation Garage ist der richtige Ort dafür. Setz Deine kreativen Konzepte und innovativen Showcases mit uns um - von der Idee bis zum Produkt.

Hier kannst Du erleben, wie die neusten Technologien entwickelt werden, und mit uns die vernetzte Zukunft gestalten.

Lass uns zusammen die Zukunft entwickeln

Du bist technisch interessiert, studierst an einer Hochschule und möchtest im Rahmen eines Praktikums oder Deiner Abschlussarbeit in einem modernen, hochfunktionalen Umfeld mit den neusten Technologien arbeiten? Dann bist Du in der Innovation Garage genau richtig!

Deine Möglichkeiten

  • Arbeite mit neuster Technik wie 5G, Narrowband-IoT, LTE-Broadcast, V2X oder 3D-Modellierung.
  • Nutz modernste Netzwerk-Geräte wie 5G-Router, den GigaCube oder netzgebundene und virtuelle Server.
  • Arbeite mit Devices wie Boards, Modulen, Wearables oder 3D-Druckern.
  • Setz neuste Kamera-Systeme ein wie ActionCams, Drohnen, Virtual Reality oder 360°-Kameras.
  • Entwickel Websites, Apps (iOS/Android) und Anwendungen.

Technik kennt kein Geschlecht

Aber es gibt immer noch deutlich weniger Frauen als Männer in technischen Berufen. Wir wollen das ändern und mehr weibliche Talente für uns und die Tech-Industrie gewinnen. In der Innovation Garage können technikinteressierte Studentinnen ihr Potenzial nutzen und Tech-Projekte voranbringen. Wir glauben, dass ein gleichberechtigtes und vielfältiges Arbeitsumfeld die besten Voraussetzungen für Innovation schafft.

Erfahrungsberichte
Kai | Medientechnologie | Praktikum, Bachelor- & Masterarbeit | Drohnensteuerung

Kai | Medientechnologie | Praktikum, Bachelor- & Masterarbeit | Drohnensteuerung

"Das Praktikum in der Innovation Garage hat mich so begeistert, dass ich hier auch meine Bachelor- und Masterarbeit geschrieben habe. Ich konnte viel Neues über die Mobilfunk-Technik lernen und meine Kenntnisse im Bereich Software-Entwicklung, Drohnen, AR und VR nutzen, um an innovativen Projekten mitzuarbeiten. In meiner Bachelorarbeit habe ich eine Steuerung von unbemannten Luftfahrzeugen über Mobilfunk entwickelt. Der Showcase dazu war sogar Teil der CeBIT 2017 - das ermöglichte mir, erste Erfahrungen mit der Teilnahme an Messen zu sammeln. Nach meinem Abschluss hatte ich das Glück, fest im Technology Innovation anfangen zu können. Neben spannenden eigenen Projekten betreue ich jetzt selbst Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten der Innovation Garage."

Kübra | Elektrotechnik | Praktikum | Lokalisierung durch Low-Power-Technologien

Kübra | Elektrotechnik | Praktikum | Lokalisierung durch Low-Power-Technologien

"Die Innovation Garage bietet allen Studenten die Möglichkeit, sich in ihren Soft- und Hard-Skills weiterzuentwickeln. Anshita (rechts auf dem Foto) und ich hatten uns gemeinsam in eine Software eingearbeitet, da wir beide für unsere Projektarbeiten Features implementieren mussten. Während meines Praktikums habe ich das IoT-Team überwiegend bei der Programmierung unterstützt und habe mich dabei mit der Lokalisierung durch Low-Power-Technologien beschäftigt. Da mir sowohl die vielfältige Arbeitsatmosphäre als auch die Dynamik äußerst gefallen haben, habe ich beruflich bei Vodafone durchgestartet. Bei meinem Bewerbungsablauf wurde ich seitens meiner Abteilungsleiterin Britta und Mentorin Teja unterstützt."

Johanna | Business Administration | Praktikum | Business Model Innovation

Johanna | Business Administration | Praktikum | Business Model Innovation

"Obwohl ich kein spezifisches Technik-Wissen habe, hat mich der Brückenschlag zwischen Technik und Business schon immer interessiert. Ein Praktikum in der Innovation Garage im Bereich Business Model Innovation war für mich die perfekte Möglichkeit, diese beiden Komponenten zu verknüpfen. Meine Aufgabe war es, aus technischen Use Cases skalierbare Business Cases zu machen. Was mir besonders gut gefallen hat, waren die abwechslungsreichen Projekte. Zum Beispiel habe ich an Projekten im Bereich 5G, Echtzeit-Multimedia, Connected Mobility und Smart Parking mitgearbeitet."

Infos zu Deinem Praktikum in der Vodafone Innovation Garage

Einsatzbereiche

Dein Praktikum absolvierst Du in den Räumen der Innovation Garage in Düsseldorf beim Vodafone Campus. Dazu gehören auch das IoT Future Lab und das 5G Lab. Und unser 5G Mobility Lab in Aldenhoven im Kreis Düren. Bewirb Dich über den Link unten. Filter Deine Suche einfach nach "Innovation Garage".

Zu den Praktikumsstellen

Vorkenntnisse

Du hast Spaß an neuen Technologien? Prima - denn Dein Praktikum in der Innovation Garage hat einen stark technischen Bezug. Ein großes technisches Verständnis ist deshalb die Grundvoraussetzung. Von Vorteil ist ein Studium im Bereich Nachrichtentechnik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen oder Informatik.

Bewirb Dich aber auch gern auf eine unserer nicht technischen Stellen, wenn Du einen anderen Hintergrund hast. So kannst Du uns auch in anderen Bereichen wie Marketing oder Strategie unterstützen.

Deine Bewerbung und Vergütung

Bewirb Dich am besten 1 bis 3 Monate im Voraus. Wir brauchen von Dir:

  • Anschreiben
  • Lebenslauf
  • Zeugnisse: Abiturzeugnis und letzten Leistungsnachweis von der Uni/FH
  • Deine aktuelle Immatrikulationsbescheinigung

Bewirbst Du Dich für ein Pflichtpraktikum, brauchen wir dafür noch den Nachweis. Für ein Pflichtpraktikum bekommst Du 1.000 Euro im Monat, für ein freiwilliges Praktikum den Mindestlohn.

Dein Kontakt zu der Innovation Garage

Sprich uns gerne an:

Innovation.Garage@Vodafone.com

Weitere Labs entdecken
Das 5G Lab

Das 5G Lab

Wir machen die neuste Mobilfunk-Generation erlebbar und entwickeln Innovationen mit New Radio, Mobile Edge Computing und Co.

Das 5G Mobility Lab

Das 5G Mobility Lab

Hier gestalten und erproben wir Mobilitätskonzepte der Zukunft. Neuste Mobilfunk-Technik und eine abwechslungsreiche Teststrecke für mobile Anwendungen sind der perfekte Mix für Tests im Freifeld.

Das IoT Future Lab

Das IoT Future Lab

In unserem IoT Future Lab entwickeln wir die Zukunft für das Internet der Dinge und zertifizieren IoT-Geräte gegenüber dem Vodafone-Mobilfunknetz.